Facebook Messenger Now Lets Everyone Unsend Text Messages

Facebook Messenger Now Lets Everyone Unsend Text Messages

Yesterday, users noticed a time constraint on when you're able to delete any unwanted or mistake texts, with ten minutes given until the message lives on forever.

The feature is available within a 10-minute window from the time the message was sent.

So say goodbye to those embarrassing messages you send your ex at 4am, or those incriminating photos you accidental sent to the family group chat instead of to your friends - phew. After that Facebook announced that the "un-send" feature will be available for all users in several months.

As users spend more time with its messaging apps, this could help grow its advertising business and while there there are now no monetization plans for its combined messaging experience, the idea has been discussed by the company.

This feature is rolling out for both iOS and Android apps starting today.

More news: Pelicans adviser Ferry playing featured role in Davis trade talks

To do this, tap on the message you'd like to retract and and select 'Remove for Everyone'. The company told TechCrunch the messages were removed as the result of a previously undisclosed message retention policy it implemented in 2014 after the Sony hacks. The removed message will be replaced by an alert telling everyone in the chat that it's been deleted.

A little while ago, it was revealed that Mark Zuckerberg and other high-level Facebook execs had access to a special feature that allowed them to erase messages they had sent to user inboxes. "I'm simply pointing out what you can see based on all the really good journalism that's out there and what you can see from using the product". Now the tool only allows businesses to receive and interact with messages from Facebook Messenger.

A prompt will ask if you want to Remove for everyone or Remove for you.

A 'tombstone, ' or a line of text confirming the message was deleted, will then appear in the chat.

Related Articles