Corey Dickerson wins first career Gold Glove with Pirates

Corey Dickerson wins first career Gold Glove with Pirates

Here's a full list of the 2018 Gold Glove Award winners. Teammate Andrew Benintendi also was nominated, but Kansas City Royals left fielder Alex Gordon took home his sixth Gold Glove instead.

Hilo's Wong is a Gold Glove finalist at second base in the National League along with with Colorado's D.J. LeMahieu and Chicago Cubs infielder Javy Baez. This was a good moment for baseball fans to realize that the 2018 Red Sox weren't just about mashing the ball - they played disciplined defense too.

The 26-year-old Betts won for the third straight year.

The Red Sox were well represented when it came to the announcement of this season's American League Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners.

More news: Are you ready to vote? A voter's guide for Texas

It marked the first time since 2013 the Red Sox have claimed multiple Gold Glove winners, with Dustin Pedroia and Shane Victorino having won it during that championship season.

Wong committed nine errors in 119 games at second. Freeman and Rizzo tied for the award at first base, and center fielder Ender Inciarte and right fielder Nick Markakis also were honored for the Braves.

Balloting for the Gold Glove Award includes votes from each manager and six coaches from their staff who can not vote for players from their own team, and a sabermetric component accounts for 25 percent of the overall voting total. This marks the fourth time in the last five seasons for Keuchel to be named the top defensive pitcher in the American League.

Pittsburgh left fielder Corey Dickerson rounds out the NL winners.

Related Articles