Lionel Messi wary ahead of Argentina’s clash with France

Lionel Messi wary ahead of Argentina’s clash with France

Marcus Rojo's stunning finish four minutes from time kept Lionel Messi and Argentina's World Cup hopes alive to see off Nigeria 2-1 on Tuesday and set up a last 16 meeting with France.

It will come as some relief as well to Jorge Sampaoli, who was under enormous pressure, especially after rumours surfaced surrounding his relationship with Messi.

Four minutes from time Manchester United defender Marcos Rojo scored the victor to send his team through to the round of 16.

Midfielder Ever Banega provided a great link up with Messi, spraying an inch-perfect pass for Messi's opener whilst controlling possession with his passing ability and creativity in the middle of the pitch.

Nigeria needed at least a draw from the match to progress to the knockout stages of the Russian Federation showpiece, while the Argentines needed a win.

Marcos Rojo scored a brilliant late volley to send Argentina through to the last 16 of the 2018 World Cup with a dramatic victory over Nigeria in St. Petersburg.

More news: Trump's next Supreme Court justice appointment will cement legacy: Sean Spicer

Messi will doubtless continue to wear the ribbon for the rest of this World Cup and if Argentina go all the way to the final, they may have Mrs Pantorotto to thank.

It had been an impressive half from Argentina, but the game was to take a twist shortly after the interval. He then gave Messi the little amulet.

An over joyed reporter said, 'no way, no way did you score with this foot?' France, being a much more organised side than Nigeria, will definitely pounce on such errors and punish Argentina. We knew it was going to be a hard afternoon, but fortunately we have achieved our aim.

It was always going to be a hard task for a largely young and inexperienced side, with only five survivors from the squad that reached the second round in Brazil four years ago.

Turkish referee Cuneyt Cakir reviewed the incident, but stood by his original decision not to award the spot-kick.

Related Articles